Gardening Club Spring Show Winners

Spring is definitely in the air for members of Garstang Gardening Club.
The club’s annual spring show at St Thomas’s hall attracted scores of members, many who took the opportunity to enter the daffodils and spring flowers competitions.
Prizes were announced by show organiser Don Worsnop, and presented by president Ben Andrews.

Class 1, three bulbs in a 7inch pot: 1 Rosemary Stokes, 2 Stuart McPhilips, 3 Elizabeth Noble.
Class 2, mini daffodils in a pot: 1 Lorraine Gibbs
Class 3, any bulbs (not daffs): 1 Ruth Cowell, 2 Richard Kellett, 3 Ray Pearson
Class 4, three standard daffodils, cut stems in vase: 1. Richard Kellett, 2 Maureen Stuart, 3 Ray Pearson.
Class 5, three mini daffodils, cut stems in vase: 1 Maureen Stuart, 2 Christina Sutcliffe, 3 Pat Collins
Class 6, spring arrangement, flowers and foiliage: 1 and 2 Ben Andrews, 3 Joyce Meiring
Class 7, Helibore blooms, floating in water: 1 Ben Andrews, 2 Gillian Southwood, 3 Hilary Hine.

Following the prizegiving Mr Andrews thanked Don and Margaret Worsnop for setting up the show, and also thanked June Gornall and Peter Burrell for their assistance.
Earlier the club’s annual meeting took place.

Chairman Ray Pearson surveyed the successes of the previous 12 months, which included two shows, several lectures and several garden visits, including one to Prince Charles’ garden at Highgrove House.

Mr Pearson revealed the club was considering moving venues because of the uncertainty over the future of the ageing St Thomas Hall, where the kitchen was now out of use (though refreshments continue to be available through a loaned urn!).

He also called for members to consider volunteering for the post of secretary, which is to be vacated by Sue McDade in March 2013.
Treasurer Roger Broadbelt reported a slight decline in membership but a healthy bank balance, which meant no increase in subs next year.
Officials elected were: Chairman, Ray Pearson; Vice-chairman, Hilary Hine; Treasurer, Roger Broadbelt; Secretary, Susan McDade; programme secretary Ruth Cowell; Press secretary, Anthony Coppin. Committee: Nancy Cowell, Pat Pickford, Don Worsnop and Bob Sutcliffe.
* The group’s next meeting is at St Thomas’s hall on Monday, April 2, 2012, at 7.30pm when Ken Green of Hornby will talk on ‘Gardening for wildlife.
* For more information about the Garstang Gardening Club visit

Picture: Flower and foliage display runner-up: Joyce Meiring