Local election candidates – announced by Wyre Council

WYRE Council has announced the names of the candidates for the local government elections on May 7 2015.

Polls will take place in all of Wyre’s wards including Garstang ward, which takes in Garstang, Cabus and Nateby.
The nominations for the three seat ward are:
Dulcie Atkins (Conservative)
Tom Balmain (Conservative)
Alice Collinson (Conservative)
Alan Cornthwaite (Independent)
Joe Gilmour (Green Party Stop Fracking Now)
Sandra Perkins (Independent)
Peter Ryder (Independent)
Paul Treece-Birch (Labour)

Postal votes will be issued around April 21.
Voters who vote at polling stations will be informed of the address of their polling stations before the election.

There will be no elections for 12-seat Garstang Town Council as there were fewer candidates than seats, meaning all those nominated will automatically become councillors.
There were nine valid nominations for the Town Council. The nominees are: AlanCornthwaite, Michael Halford, Gordon Harter, Lynn Harter, Sandra Perkins, Chris Ryan, Peter Ryder, Graham Salisbury and David Williams

The only rural Wyre parish council which will see an election is Myerscough and Bilsborrow, where there were more candidates than seats on the council.